Giro d’Italia: Simon Yates limits losses to Primoz Roglic after crash in stage four finale
Richard Carapaz held off Caleb Ewan to win stage four

Britain’s Simon Yates limited his losses to Giro d’Italia leader Primoz Roglic after crashes split the race in a dramatic finale to stage four.

Roglic made it into a small front group following a series of crashes with 6km to go before Ecuador’s Richard Carapaz attacked late on to win in Frascati.

Yates was brought down in the last crash but chased back to lose only 16 seconds to Roglic and stay in second.

Tom Dumoulin, the 2017 champion, fell heavily and finished four minutes down.

“Everyone was fighting for position on a roundabout with 6km to go and a rider slid out in front of me,” Mitchelton-Scott rider Yates told Eurosport.

“I’m not blaming anyone, these things happen, but I got up quickly and had the guys around me to limit the losses.

“My hip is sore, my left hand side is really, but I’m OK – it’s always worse in the morning so we’ll see but the Giro is long.”

Yates is now 35 seconds down on Slovenian Roglic in the overall standings, with Italian Vincenzo Nibali four seconds back in third.

Stage four results

1. Richard Carapaz (Ecu/Movistar) 5hrs 58mins 17secs

2. Caleb Ewan (Aus/Lotto-Soudal) Same time

3. Diego Ulissi (Ita/UAE Team Emirates)

4. Pascal Ackermann (Ger/Bora-Hansgrohe) +2secs

5. Florian Senechal (Fra/Deceuninck-Quick-Step) Same time

6. Primoz Roglic (Slo/Team Jumbo-Visma)

7. Valerio Conti (Ita/UAE Team Emirates) +14secs

8. Miguel Angel Lopez (Col/Astana) +18secs

9. Arnaud Demare (Fra/Groupama-FDJ) Same time

10. Simon Yates (GB/Mitchelton-Scott)

General classification after stage four

1. Primoz Roglic (Slo/Team Jumbo-Visma) 16hrs 19mins 20secs

2. Simon Yates (GB/Mitchelton-Scott) +35secs

3. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita/Bahrain – Merida) +39secs

4. Miguel Angel Lopez (Col/Astana Pro Team) +44secs

5. Diego Ulissi (Ita/UAE Team Emirates) Same time

6. Rafal Majka (Pol/Bora-Hansgrohe) +49secs

7. Bauke Mollema (Ned/Trek-Segafredo) +55secs

8. Damiano Caruso (Ita/Bahrain-Merida) +56secs

9. Bob Jungels (Lux/Deceuninck-Quick-Step) +1min 02secs

10. Davide Formolo (Ita/Bora-Hansgrohe) +1min 06secs

Read More


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here